20th March 2025

UNCTAD/STAT/CLASSIF/2025/1

CLASSIFICATION UPDATE – MARCH 2025

Introduction

This document outlines the changes introduced in the March 2025 revision round of the country classification at UNCTADstat. These changes have been applied to the reports released from the 20th March 2025; with other reports to be progressively revised.

The latest version of the country classification, including Economies and Groups of economies, is available on the UNCTADstat Classification Page.



Change in geographical coverage

Disaggregation of the geographical group **Oceania** (5500) into two subgroups:

- Oceania excluding Australia and New Zealand (5510) composed of the following economies:
 American Samoa (016), Solomon Islands (090), Cook Islands (184), Fiji (242), French Polynesia (258),
 Kiribati (296), Guam (316), Nauru (520), New Caledonia (540), Vanuatu (548), Niue (570), Northern Mariana
 Islands (580), United States Minor Outlying Islands (581), Pacific Islands, Trust Territory (582), Micronesia
 (Federated States of) (583), Marshall Islands (584), Palau (585), Papua New Guinea (598), Pitcairn (612),
 Tokelau (772), Tonga (776), Tuvalu (798), Wallis and Futuna Islands (876), Samoa (882),
- Australia and New Zealand (5520) composed of the following economies:
 Australia (036), Christmas Island (162), Cocos (Keeling) Islands (166), Heard Island and McDonald Islands (334), New Zealand (554), Norfolk Island (574).



Change in development status coverage

Disaggregation of the group **Developing economies: Africa** (1410) into two subgroups:

- **Developing economies: Northern Africa** (1411) composed of the following economies: Algeria (012), Libya (434), Morocco (504), Sudan (729), Western Sahara (732), Sudan (...2011) (736), Tunisia (788), Egypt (818).
- Developing economies: Sub-Saharan Africa (1412) composed of the following economies: Angola (024), Botswana (072), British Indian Ocean Territory (086), Burundi (108), Cameroon (120), Cabo Verde (132), Central African Republic (140), Chad (148), Comoros (174), Mayotte (175), Congo (178), Dem. Rep. of the Congo (180), Benin (204), Equatorial Guinea (226), Ethiopia (...1991) (230), Ethiopia (231), Eritrea (232), French Southern Territories (260), Djibouti (262), Gabon (266), Gambia (270), Ghana (288), Guinea (324), Côte d'Ivoire (384), Kenya (404), Lesotho (426), Liberia (430), Madagascar (450), Malawi (454), Mali (466), Mauritania (478), Mauritius (480), Mozambique (508), Namibia (516), Niger (562), Nigeria (566), Guinea-Bissau (624), Réunion (638), Rwanda (646), Saint Helena (654), Sao Tome and Principe (678), Senegal (686), Seychelles (690), Sierra Leone (694), Somalia (706), South Africa (710), Zimbabwe (716), South Sudan (728), Eswatini (748), Togo (768), Uganda (800), United Republic of Tanzania (834), Burkina Faso (854), Zambia (894).

Disaggregation of the group **Developing economies: Asia** (1430) into five subgroups:

- **Developing economies: Central Asia** (1431) composed of the following economies: Kazakhstan (398), Kyrgyzstan (417), Tajikistan (762), Turkmenistan (795), Uzbekistan (860).
- **Developing economies: Southern Asia** (1432) composed of the following economies: Afghanistan (004), Bangladesh (050), Bhutan (064), Sri Lanka (144), India (356), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (364), Maldives (462), Nepal (524), Pakistan (586).
- Developing economies: Eastern Asia (1433) composed of the following economies:
 China (156), China, Taiwan Province of (158), China, Hong Kong SAR (344), Dem. People's Rep. of Korea (408), China, Macao SAR (446), Mongolia (496).
- Developing economies: Western Asia (1434) composed of the following economies: Azerbaijan (031), Bahrain (048), Armenia (051), Georgia (268), State of Palestine (275), Iraq (368), Jordan (400), Kuwait (414), Lebanon (422), Oman (512), Qatar (634), Saudi Arabia (682), Yemen, Democratic (720), Syrian Arab Republic (760), United Arab Emirates (784), Türkiye (792), Yemen, Arab Republic (886), Yemen (887).
- Developing economies: South-eastern Asia (1435) composed of the following economies: Brunei Darussalam (096), Myanmar (104), Cambodia (116), Indonesia (360), Lao People's Dem. Rep. (418), Malaysia (458), Philippines (608), Timor-Leste (626), Singapore (702), Viet Nam (704), Thailand (764), Indonesia (...2002) (960).



Revision of groups

Deletion of the following special economies:

- France including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Monaco and Reunion (251).
- Norway including Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands (579).
- Switzerland, Liechtenstein (757).
- United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland including Channel Islands and Isle of Man (926).
- United States of America including Puerto Rico and United States Virgin Islands (842).

Deletion of the following groups:

- High-income developing economies (2621).
- Middle-income developing economies (2622).
- Low-income developing economies (2623).

Change in composition

The following groups have been updated:

- Developing economies excluding LDCs (1601)
 Add: Sao Tome and Principe (678).
- LDCs (1610) and LDCs: Islands and Haiti (1615) Drop: Sao Tome and Principe (678).
- SIDS (Small island developing States) (UN-OHRLLS) (1640) and SIDS: Caribbean (1642) Add: Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (535).
- BRICS (2711)

Add: Ethiopia (231), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (364), United Arab Emirates (784), Egypt (818), Indonesia (360), Indonesia (...2002) (960).

OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) (3905), European Union (2020 ...) (3412), CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) (3381), CBD (Convention on Biological Diversity) (3380) and Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing (3382)

Add: Åland Islands (248).

Contact and further information

Further questions can be addressed to: statistics@unctad.org.